What was your first job?

(Andrew Chen) #1

What was your first job ever (non-serious part-time high school jobs count), and then your first career job?

(Zetong Teoh) #2

I can see how this topic is going to be super interesting.

In chronological order:
Retail shop assistant
Telemarketing
Data Entry Assistant
Private Equity Intern
Content Marketing Intern

Now - Digital Marketing Intern
First career job - digital marketing/growth/user acquisition in startups (still finding!)

Meeting people from different walks of life is the most interesting takeaway.

(Stephen Foung) #3

My first job was sweeping the parking lot of one of those arcade/batting cages/go kart places (Scandia). I don’t think I’ve ever had a “career job”. I was a restaurant manager for a few years, but it was while I was in/in-between school, and I hated it.

I’ve also driven for Uber here and there (half for research, and half because there was a point where I desperately needed cash to make rent)

(Matt Hines) #4

Ohh, this is a good one. Very interesting. In order:

DJ at skating rink (awww yea)
Caddy at a golf course
Blue print copier for a construction company << first full-time job
AutoCAD draftsman (same company)
AP clerk (same company)
Auditor (public accounting) << first career job
Now - Accountant at Mid-Size Internet Company

(Alan Chavez) #5

This is going to be a long one. It all started when I was in elementary school. I had a small business selling customized folders to other children in my school. Back then I was living in Mexico, and I used to sell these customized folders for 5 Pesos, which back then it was the equivalent of perhaps 0.4 USD.

I don’t really remember how much money a week I was actually making, but it was between 40 - 50 MXN (like 4 USD) and that for a kid my age, was a lot.