Opinion/feedback request: gitstorage - Source Code Server

(Ramesh Jayavaram) #1

Hi fellow marketers,
I need your help in understanding why this gitstorage device is not selling much. Btw, I am the only guy handling this product’s marketing and I have no education/work experience in software development.

Background: The founder of the company (Computer Science Ph.D. and developer for 20+years) had his source code stolen by an international firm a few years ago and decided that he had to do something for securing his hard work. So this product was developed over the last one year in stealth mode and is now sold on Amazon.com

Product: gitstorage devices run the version control system “git” on a small Linux appliance, offering a solution that combines the best of hosted options and on-premise solutions. gitstorage is sold in two variants, a 64GB (blue) and 16GB (red) version for $99.00 and $199.00 respectively. The price includes software updates for one year. Software updates for year 2 forward would be at a cost of $99/year.

Marketing/Sales: We have started selling these products on Amazon.com from the first week of February but have not gotten sales as expected. Less than 10 devices were sold. We have exhibited in few developer tradeshows in SF and Boston, and got some coverage on small publications and published an article on Hackernoon (Medium.com) as well. We are doing paid ads on Google, StackOverflow, Youtube and also active on Twitter. I am sure we have reached at least 20,000+ developers through one channel or the other in the last two months. We also have few thousand visits to our website every week.

Please share your view on what could be the problem? Is it the website content? The channels? The price? Messaging? The product itself?

Any feedback on the product and the marketing is welcome.

Thank you.

Edit:
Adding comparison chart:

(Barry W. Enderwick) #2